Gratitude Challenge, Day 5

I’m a few days behind in the blog department, but that doesn’t mean I have been slacking off.

Thankful-ALWAYS-something

The Day 5 challenge is to take 5 minutes to write about all the things I have; not those that are missing.

First off, I’m incredibly grateful for my husband.  Not only does he work really hard to make sure I’m happy (no small task!) and have a great life, but he is my best friend.  I confide in him about everything.  He knows all my secrets, even the ones I’ve never told anyone else.  He cooks me homemade meals so I can get some extra work done at night.  He travels with me so we can see the world together.  He supports all-night Minecraft-a-thons.  Need I say more?

I’m also grateful for my dogs.  They are the best, most affectionate fur-babies in the world.  Nothing cheers me up more when I’m sad than cuddles with my dogs.  And ice cream.  Actually, I’m also grateful for ice cream.

I’m grateful for my family.  Especially those who have taken me into their lives by choice.  Being loved and respected unconditionally is an amazing feeling.

I’m also grateful for the opportunities I’ve gotten in my career.  I had to work for all of them, but that makes it all the more rewarding.  There is no feeling like being rewarded for hard work.

Finally, I’m grateful for the life I have.  I am safe, can provide for my family, can enjoy the finer things on occasion, have a beautiful home that we worked hard for, get the opportunity to travel and don’t have to go without.  I am incredibly fortunate.

Previous: Gratitude Challenge, Day 4
Next Up: Gratitude Challenge, Day 7 
4 thoughts on “Gratitude Challenge, Day 5

  1. I really like the concept of mindful gratitude and have been trying to do the same on Facebook (too lazy for a full-out blog post).

    Along the lines of gratitude and family, I’m grateful that my children and their partners have found ways to expand their blood families by finding family of “choice”. As a parent, it’s comforting to know your children have more significant people in their lives. We can’t always be there when times are tough; it’s good to know you have people who will be. (I’m lookin’ at you, Ata!!).

    Keep up the Gratitude Challenge!

Leave a Reply

