Gratitude Challenge, Day 2

It’s Day 2, and I haven’t fallen off the wagon yet!

Yesterday I met all my goals. Today I met them as well, although I am finishing this post up from bed after 10pm.  I think that still counts, and I’m feeling pretty good about myself.

Today’s challenge was to take opportunities at home and work to say a simple thank you, and then to reflect on how encouraging others makes you feel encouraged.

The following quote arrived early in the afternoon

140699-Feeling-gratitude-and-not-expr-HZxn

— I had to ask: Does it count if I give the gift to myself?

I decided to focus my energy on gratitude at work.

This morning was department meeting day.  It’s been a while since we were able to have a meeting, and I had a few important business related matters to cover.  I like the open discussion, and even though we got stuck on one topic for quite a while, I feel like we accomplished something.  Instead of just venting frustrations, I redirected the group to find solutions for the things they were concerned with.

This afternoon, I made an active effort to speak to the person who started the discussion to thank them for bringing the concerns to the table in front of the group.  I assured them that I took note of what we discussed, and reiterated that I appreciate the feedback and that it is helpful in the long term.  I also reminded them of the steps being taken to try to resolve the situation they had brought up (already in the works).

Bringing people in and rallying them together to find solutions is a really good feeling.  There is no better way to show people you appreciate them than to ask for their opinions.  I know sometimes being the boss means people don’t like me, but there’s nothing I can do about that.  Besides, it’s never truly personal, and letting it get to me would be detrimental.  They might not always realize that I value their opinions, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to give up trying to show them.  Today was one of those days where I made an extra effort to listen AND hear.

I am grateful for the patience of the people who work for me as I try to get them what they need for their jobs to go well.  And I am grateful for the opportunity to use my leadership skills.  Helping and encouraging others makes me feel like I’m able to contribute more than I could relying only on myself.

So as I head into Day 3, I’m enjoying sitting back, taking a deep breath, and really thinking about what I’m grateful for.  Until tomorrow, goodnight!

 Previous: Tackling the Gratitude Challenge
Next Up: Gratitude Challenge, Day 4
 
2 thoughts on “Gratitude Challenge, Day 2

Leave a Reply

