A Legacy Christmas

I’ve waited a long time for this home.  It’s not just about the big house, or gorgeous hardwood floors.  It’s not about the walkout onto the pond, the bigger yard or the awesome master bathroom.

This home is so much more than the beautiful building that holds our stuff.

While it may not be full of children (yet), Brandon and I are determined to make this our family home.  This is the first home we purchased together, and we are committed to filling it with happy memories and hope for the future.  Our family may not look the same as everyone we know, but it’s ours.  Kaia and Bella may be dogs, but every single day those goofy faces welcome us home with unconditional love.  How can that not bring a smile to my face?

Bella and Kaia

The other day on the way home from work, I asked my husband if the house smelled like Christmas tree.  His exact words: “It smells like your Christmas tree puked Christmas smell all over the walls.”  I laughed, posted it on Facebook, then felt happy.  That smell reminds me of my childhood, of camping at Paul Lake, of Christmas.  That smell reminds me of home.

I remember this mug that my dad had when I was a kid.  Likely a father’s day gift from a MUCH younger version of myself.  “Any man can be a father, it takes someone special to be a dad.”  I feel the same way about houses.  A fancy house doesn’t make a home; love, support, trust and friendship do.  Oh yeah, and Christmas smell.

Merry Christmas, from my family to yours.

2 thoughts on “A Legacy Christmas

    1. Thank you, we couldn’t be happier with our home. I call it Urban Farmhouse, and plan on blogging about it more once we finish setting up.

      Merry Christmas to your family as well!

Leave a Reply

