My addiction to Minecraft. The perfect game for Type A people like me.

Minecraft-minecraft-19670270-1600-1000A few years ago, the team of 13 year old boys that I was coaching introduced me to Minecraft.

It all went downhill from there.  I soon discovered that a game where you walk around chopping down trees, collecting random objects and organizing them into chests is my kinda game.  Organizing?  I’ll buy anything that helps with organizing.  My husband teases me, but the other day I was actually looking at lists of apps that make lists.  I deserve to be teased.

Organizing is something I can spend hours doing.  Minecraft is something I can spend hours playing.  I built my first house in the side of a mountain and made my first mine.  Then once I’d collected enough blocks, I built a portal to the Nether.  I started building my mansion complete with a glorious staircase, full professional kitchen and huge multi-floor library.  I went around building and collecting many other things and creatures.  I built horse stables and collected one of every type of horse.  I built pens for cows and sheep.  I built my own villages and imported people from nearby game-spawned villages.  Yup, I went super geek.  I won’t even go into details about how many stacks of diamonds and other gems I have, the people breeding factory I’ve created (gotta populate the villages I build somehow) or the miles and miles of powered railway that I’ve built.  I’ll give you a hint though, I have a fully functioning automated train station that allows me to select any destination, jump in a minecart and press GO.  My longest track takes 12 minutes of real time to get me to the destination.

I don’t think I’ve ever committed to anything as much as I have to my Minecraft world.  That’s an exaggeration.  But only slightly.  It’s pretty embarrassing.  I’ve gone entire nights without sleeping.  One night my husband fell asleep on the couch and when I finally woke him up to go upstairs it was 7am.  I played right through until 7am!!!  This wasn’t 10 years ago.  I was 30.  What can I say, it’s relaxing and challenging at the same time.  I can go my own pace and when I get bored of building I go mining, when I get bored of mining I go exploring, when I get bored of that I can make potions.  There is so much to see and do.

Very few people know how much I love Minecraft, so I thought I’d announce it to the world.  Why?  Because Minecraft PE 0.9.0 was just released for iPhone and I might forget to blog for a while because I’ll be playing constantly as long as I have a battery charge!  There should be a 12-step program for this.

Games like Minecraft are an amazing departure from the real world.  After a long week of real responsibility and hard work, it’s so much fun to just geek out for an hour or 10.  Of course I wouldn’t bring it up at work other than with people I’m friends with.  The last thing I need is for my team (or the rest of my department) to think their work is in the hands of a video game nerd.

 

One thought on “My addiction to Minecraft. The perfect game for Type A people like me.

Leave a Reply

